PIR MOTION SENSOR + LED problem

Arhont

Joined Jan 8, 2013
Hi,

i'm new in electronics, so maybe i'll ask stupid questions, but really need your help. I'm trying to connect this PIR

http://www.ebay.com/itm/370671048122?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

to light up 3 led in parallel, but no luck. When i connect 1 led directly to +out of PIR, just getting 2,68V and that's not enough to light up led properly.

With no load PIR is giving 3,3v.

I understand that i should use trensistor and some resistor, but i need a circuit and value of resistors.

regards and looking forward for your answers

Arhont

Joined Jan 8, 2013
Try this, and see if it works.
i suck at reading diagrams...

Please correct me if i'm wrong:
is it OK to put 100k on pir output? Also, a 150 ohm will be enough for 6V (diagram shows 12v and 1k)? OK to use BC 547 NPN?
And what i see in diagram - connect all 3 led's anote>cathode>resistor, then connest all 3 cathode to emitter, then connect PIR out to base, and connect collector to ground?

sorry for bad english, it's not my native language

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
This scheme works, but i'm only getting 8mah on entire circle. Is it maybe because of bc547 or 100k resistor i used on PIR output?

waiting for answer

regards
I was too hasty. The 100k resistor is too large. Try some smaller values; I will calculate after lunch.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
I was too hasty. The 100k resistor is too large. Try some smaller values; I will calculate after lunch.
You had a 10K in your diagram.. Which should be fine..
He seemed to only have a 100k resistor I guess and used that..hence the problem.

Arhont

Joined Jan 8, 2013
mcgyvr is right, i had only 100k resistor :)
i'll buy 10k tomorrow and reasemble the circuit.