Pimping my Piezo Pickup classical guitar

Roob

Joined Mar 21, 2015
Hi,

I have fitted a piezo pickup under the saddle of my classical nylon strung guitar.

My plan is to build the following : a 3 channel parametric eq followed by a fuzz box. All will be mounted into the guitar and powered by a 9V battery.

As a beginner I have many questions and in order to start off on firm foundations I guess it would be sensible to understand output and input impedances. So, as I have assumed that I would need a basic preamp for my piezo pickup before feeding the signal into other places I built the attached single transistor amp.

The output impedance of the piezo is simple I guess, I measured the resistance between the 2 electrodes to be 2MOhms or more. The output impedance from the amp is not so clear to me as there are currents and voltages and frequency dependent impedances due to the capacitor etc...

Question 1: what is the output impedance of the circuit in the attached file
Question 2: Do I need the attached preamp if I then have a parametric eq which must contain amps
Question 3: Does anyone have a good schematic for a parametric eq, preferable using transistors
Question 4: is this post breaking the etiquette rules of length and number of questions?

thank you in advance

Attachments

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008
Odd transistor choice and odd transistor symbol.

Have you googled Guitar Piezo Pre-amp? Quite a few to choose from, no point reinventing the wheel.

It's a good idea to put a pre-amp before the eq stage because it probably won't be designed to be driven directly from a guitar pick-up and may only have unity gain and too low an input impedance.

Probably best to go for an op-amp based parametric equalizer as it's likely to be easier to build.

Last edited:

Roob

Joined Mar 21, 2015
Odd transistor choice and odd transistor symbol.

Have you googled Guitar Piezo Pre-amp? Quite a few to choose from, no point reinventing the wheel.