piezoelectricity

amiteshpandey

Joined Jul 15, 2010
hey frnds i am planning to prepare a piezoelectric mat that will convert the human movement into electrcty and hence need some guidance for it.....
thanks in advance.....

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
What exactly do you need help with? The power collection part? The interface for the Piezo sensors? Controller???

What Level of experience do you have with electronics (analog and digital)??

B. Morse

amiteshpandey

Joined Jul 15, 2010
i need help in all parts and i am in last year of my Engg from india so need help in all part for example how to start with ???
what is the suited piezo sensors for such a conversion of mechanical stress....and than the interfacing part ......bt for a start generation and storing part.

amiteshpandey

Joined Jul 15, 2010
hey bmorse just read abt that IC but want to ask will it work in my application where i will be converting human kinetic energy into electricty and if yes how and where shall i use this IC.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
Did a little more research on this subject and apparently you need some piezo sensors that are specifically designed for this type of application, a source for these types of sensors is here >> http://www.advancedcerametrics.com/pages/energy_harvesting_components

I will still try to see what i can do with "off the shelf" piezo elements, and possibly the kind they use in auto security systems, since these are made to detect vibrations and some have a weight added to one end to add sensitivity.....

B. Morse

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
hey bmorse just read abt that IC but want to ask will it work in my application where i will be converting human kinetic energy into electricty and if yes how and where shall i use this IC.

These IC's are supposed to do just that, take kinetic energy from movement or vibrations of moving objects or machinery, and convert that to energy that can power micropowered circuits such as wireless sensors, etc.