Piezoelectric Transducer Trigger/sensor project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by nikoTesla, Aug 24, 2014.

1. nikoTesla

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 24, 2014
    Hi, I'm a physics student from Nigeria and I'm interested in doing a project involving piezoelectric transducers.
    The project will deal with how a piezoelectric material can produce voltage from the mechanical stress of a human footstep,
    so my first question would be how and where can I find (buy) a piezoelectric transducer (plate) that can withstand the weight
    of a footstep and is not so sensitive to vibration that any little disturbance will produce voltage. Or how can I dampen the
    voltage response produced from ordinary vibrations/sounds/disturbances?

Please suggest which of the following products on Aliexpress.com will be best suitable for this purpose (that's basically
    the only place I can easily get these piezoelectric materials shipped to Nigeria)

If none of these piezoelectric products can do the job, can you please suggest where I can get the right materials.

Secondly, I need the piezoelectric transducer to act as a sort of trigger/sensor such that the voltage is maintained for as long
    as the foot is on the device, as soon as the foot is removed, the voltage should be cut-off. Can the circuit described in this
    thread (using IC 555) be used for this specific purpose?

Can you give me any TESTED circuit where a piezo trigger (or sensor) is made to produce constant voltage when pressed (or strained
    in one direction) and voltage is cut-off when pressure is released.

Will be expecting your informative replies. Thanks.
  2. zyklag2005

Apr 6, 2012
    This seems to be the one piezoelectric material suitable for such a application. But i do not know if they will ship to Nigeria. But maybe you can get someone to buy and send it to you.
  3. Bernard

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 7, 2008