Piezo speaker, how to make it buzz

Cinatas

Joined Aug 13, 2009
Hello I am completely new to this whole electricity thing, but I found some old circuitry in the attic. I have what happens to be a piezo speaker, a circuitry that connects 9V battery but converts it to 5V(No idea why it was even built). A 555 chip and a transistor name starts with 2N-3904, and a bunch of resistors and a few buttons along with few LED and a potentiometer.
I tried connecting piezo directly to the battery, but all it does is during connection it just make a cracking noise and does not work, upon connecting battery to button and then piezo I was able to get crack/buzz from piezo each time I press the button.
Now I found out that it needs constant pulsating noise in order to make it buzz, but how would I go around in doing that?
By connecting 555 chip pin 1 to ground and 4 and 8 to the battery and pin 3 to piezo I managed to make it buzz. But is there a way to control volume?
And can I do the same using potentiometer? Any diagrams would be a huge help. Thnaks a lot in advance, I hope I can sart getting interested in electronics.

ELECTRONERD

Joined May 26, 2009