Piezo alarm delay timer?

djridgeway17

Joined Jul 14, 2011
I need a setup that will enable a Piezo 12V buzzer/alarm to be triggered to sound after a given time. This is not going to be hooked to any other device. I will need the Piezo to sound 2 hours after set. What are my options? I am a novice with circuits, but would be willing to make a project out of this if there is a solution. Thanks very much in advance!

Drew

Also, posted this in the wrong forum to begin with. This shouldn't be in "Homework Help".

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Is this a Piezo element that you're driving with an oscillator or is it a DC powered Piezo Sonalert? If it's the latter, what's the required DC supply voltage?

MrCarlos

Joined Jan 2, 2010
Hello djridgeway17

You mention in your post that the "Piezo Buzzer or alarm" is for 12V.
But do not mention what type it is. As CDRIVE is asking you.

Assuming your "Piezo Buzzer or alarm" is a black box and it has an Input to enabling it’s sound,
So what is required is to make a timer to enable the black box 2 hours after the start.

If this period of time (2 hours) will be fixed the circuit would be more or less straightforward.
It takes a time generator (555), a counter circuit, some gates, oh, and of course the start button and the power supply.

Now
Which Integrated circuits for the counters you like to use?
You would use the family integrated circuits: CMOS or TTL?
You have a circuit simulator?

Greetings
at your service

djridgeway17

Joined Jul 14, 2011
Thanks for quick responses. Yes, the Piezo buzzer is and off the shelf one from Radio Shack. Black box with a hot and ground from it. The voltages are 6-16V DC. Like I said, I am a newbie at this stuff, so excuse me for my lack of knowledge or terminology with this.

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
Actually, I apologize for missing your reference to a 12V Piezo Buzzer in your first post. It was 0130 hrs here when I replied. Anyway, what triggers the 2 hour timer?

Last edited:

CDRIVE