PID turning help - balance robot

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bug13, Nov 17, 2013.

1. bug13

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Feb 13, 2012
    NOTE: I got a typo in my title, it should be PID turning help. (I don't seem to find a way to fix it)
    Opps, it's fixed now

Hi guys

My new dc motors arrived last week, and I replaced my old noise motors with the new ones, more info here.

Now I need to turn the PD loop to control my little robot so it can stand up. I have no experience on turning any PID/PD loop, all I know is what they are from reading some material.

So I have a few tried myself, no luck, I got to a point where it oscillate for a couple seconds and fall over.

Any advice/suggestion on how should I solve this problem?

Thanks guys

Last edited: Nov 17, 2013
  2. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    We will need some info about how many readings you are taking per second (or duration between reads). Also, how much change do you expect between reads?

What kind of sensors (time constant or how long will it take from the time an error first starts until the motors can respond to start correcting the change).

Also, here is a general from Wikipedia...

Pseudocode

Here is a simple software loop that implements a PID algorithm:[18]