PID to open a Triac?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by jcran17, Sep 22, 2013.

1. jcran17

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 8, 2013
    Hello, this is my first post and I can most certainly be classified as a complete novice when it comes to circuits. In reading about this project, I have learned some new schematic symbols and new parts I have not heard of before, so please bare with me.
    My project: I have an old analog immersion circulator (uses and op isolator to open a triac that turns on the heating element, attached schematic) that I want to update with a PID to allow precise temperature control for sous vide cooking and beer making. The cleanest way for me to do this is to use the SSR output of an 1/32 DIN Auber PID (8VDC, 40 mA) to open the triac (datasheet attached, model #Q4015L5 under “15A” on pages 4 and 5); this way I can keep everything inside the original case.

Question: Can I wire the SSR output of the PID to control the heater, or do I need to get an SSR and wire it up that way?

Other potentially helpful info: I tried using a DMM to test the triac gate and found the following:
    1.) Black to general ground (screw in case) red to triac gate- oscillates between -0.2 to +0.2 VDC regardless of heater status
    2.) Black to the “meter reference point” red to triac gate- 8.76VDC with heater off & 8.59VDC with heater on

Much appreciated

2. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    You said you are "a complete novice when it comes to curcuits".

Since this is a difficult thing to make and works at deadly voltages etc, my suggestion would be to browse Ebay for "PID temperature controller module".

I have seen a few lately, they are cheap, have digital temperature dsiplays, settable alarms, and many come complete with a temperature sensor.

You just install the temperature sensor, press a few buttons and it will directly drive your AC mains heater.

3. jcran17

Mar 8, 2013
    RB,