PID controller

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by qubits1, Aug 25, 2010.

1. qubits1

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 24, 2010
    Is it possible to use a PID controller to follow a 100 Hz sine wave? And would the Ziegler–Nichols method be enough to tune it?

2. Jaguarjoe

Apr 7, 2010
    Which PID controller? Any off the shelf unit would be way too slow to follow a 100Hz signal.

3. qubits1

Aug 24, 2010
    This is my first time using a PID. I need to follow a 100hz sine wave with a sensor lag of 1ms. Can you give me some pointers on how to achieve that with or without PID?

4. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    You can generate your sinewave and compare its phase with the sinewave you want to follow. Then you can change your sinewave's phase to match the others phase.

5. Jaguarjoe

Apr 7, 2010
    Please describe your whole process so we can see what you want to do. You are "following" this 100Hz waveform with what? What kind of sensor is it?
    Ziegler-Nichols works pretty good for most slow PID loops like those found in chemical plants etc. Its not perfect, but it gets you pretty close. I have no idea how well it would work at 100 Hz.

6. qubits1

Aug 24, 2010
    Additional info:

Input come from a function generator and goes to an Amplifier that drives the speaker. The speaker is in a chamber. The sound bounces of the walls and creates harmonics. Now I want to keep sounds in this chamber at only the input frequency. So, I want to use the transducer(microphone) as a sensor in a feedback control system to drive the error between the input wave and sensor to zero. Essentially, it removes harmonics and noise.

7. Jaguarjoe

Apr 7, 2010
    What's the final operator going to be? IOW what's the PID loop controlling? Something has to create the action to drive the error to zero.