PICs: Where to start....?

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
Good day, everyone!
I recently started playing around with programming PICs in MPLAB IDE. I have written a couple of very simple programs in Assembly that flash LEDs in specific patterns, but I would like to be able to do more than that. I just bought a PICkit2 and a couple of PIC18F1330s and downloaded the C18 compiler from the Microchip website. So, here's my question: What should I do next? I would like to learn C, but I have yet to find a full C tutorial for an 18F uC. I am also somewhat clueless as to the circuitry needed to program the chip, namely the oscillator, power supply, etc. I know that the PICkit2 is capable of ICSP, which I plan to use, and I would like to have the target chip on my solderless breadboard so that I can do some prototyping. So, can anyone point me toward a good C tutorial and some basic setup circuits for my uC?
I thank you for any help in advance. I appreciate it.
Best regards,
Der Strom

Barnaby Walters

Joined Mar 2, 2011
Hi there,

Have you actually programmed a chip and set it up working? If not, do that with the LED flash programs you've made before you do anything else.

I can't help you with C as I've just started out a few days ago and have been making LEDs flash with asm too :)

As for a basic circuit — you've chosen a PIC well, as it doesn't have too many pins and has an internal oscillator. For the circuit, try this (assuming you have 18 pin model — if other, see datasheet):

+V -> Pin 14
Gnd -> Pin 5
+V needs to be connected to Pin 4 (MCLR), I suggest via a diode so that the higher ICSP voltage that's applied to that pin during programming doesn't affect the rest of the circuit.

Oh, and don't forget the 0.1uF (104) capacitor between +V and Gnd.

If you set up the internal oscillator correctly, that should be a fairly effective base circuit. If I've forgotten anything I'm sure others will fill in. I have only been doing this for 5 days!

Thanks, good luck,
Barnaby