PICkit2 programming problem

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by poriet, Mar 10, 2010.

1. poriet

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 26, 2010
    Hi,
    I'm just learning to program PICs; I have the PICkit2.
    Rather than use the LPC demo board with its F690, I opted to use a 16F54 baseline chip ( I just had one handy ) for which I made a breakout board.
    However, all this is academic for, when you open MPLAB and select this PIC, it tells you that you cannot use the PICkit2 programmer. This is odd: the microchip website states that the F54 is supported; also the PICkit2 menu shows the F54.
    PIC chips, huh! One part inspiration, 10 parts bloody frustration.

Bruce

2. AlexR

Jan 16, 2008
    Yes I've noticed the same thing not that I have used any 16F5X chips so I'm not talking from experience.

I don't know why MPLAB does not support 16F5X chips under pickit2 since the chips do support ICSP so in theory the pickit2 should be able to program them. One solution could be to use the pickit2 stand-alone GUI to program the chips. Its not as convenient as programming from the PMLAB IDE but it might get you around the problem.

The other solution is to cut your losses, ditch the 16F5X chips you have and get something a bit more powerful. The 16F5X series are pretty terrible chips and as you get deeper into programming you will find their lack of interrupts, absents of any useful peripherals, and a mere 2 level stack depth very limiting.

3. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    Since the 16F54 doesn't support debug...
    You can configure the PICKit2 software to automatically program on button or change of hex file. So after MPLAB creates the hex file the PICKit2 can program it.

4. poriet

Feb 26, 2010
    Thank you guys. I know this is a crap chip, but I only want to get the feel of flashing a few LEDs and maybe a 7-seg display. I've gone to the trouble of making a breakout board, so....