PICKit 1 and Simple LED

SteveO

Joined May 15, 2008
Hi all,

I am very new to microcontrollers but am very excited to learn the fundamentals of them. I have purchased a PICkit1 for just this reason.

I have tried to create a simple blinking LED using a PIC16F684 and PICkit 1 development board from Microchip. However, all I am getting is constant LED luminance and it does not seem to be pulsing at all.

I have created it in c using the HI-TECH C Compilier.

Does anyone see any problems in my few lines of code here? Basically have a 2ms delay nested inside a for-loop for 128 repetitions. This should give me approximately 4Hz on the output.

#include <htc.h>

#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000 // define oscillator freq = 4Mz

void main(void){
int x;
TRISC2 = 0; //set RC2 as output
PORTC = 0; // initialize PORTC low
while(1){
if (PORTC==0){
PORTC = 4; //set RC2 high
}
else{
PORTC = 0; //set RC2 low
}
for(x = 0; x<=127; x++){
__delay_ms(2); //delay 2ms
CLRWDT();
}
}
}

All help and suggestions is appreciated.

Thanks.

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
You need to turn the comparators off, try adding
CMCON0 = 0x07; // comps OFF
in your port setup code. See page 61 of the datasheet.

There may be other issues with that PIC too, you should have a read through the datasheet in chapter 4 the PORT sections.

Also your code is flawed because you are testing if the whole PORTC==0 but only 1 pin is an output. So it will probably never match PORTC==0.

It's much better form to use a variable for your bit control sequencing, then just write to the port.

SteveO

Joined May 15, 2008
Thanks guys. I will try turning the comparators off.

I first initialize PORTC = 0 so the first time through the if/else statement it should set PORTC = 4, then it comes back through and PORTC =/ 0 so it then sets PORTC = 0. Am I missing something how PORTC may not ever be identically 0?

I will try messing around with this too.