Picking classes - Digital Electronics vs. DC Circuit Analysis

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by sheepsimulator, Jun 30, 2009.

1. sheepsimulator

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 30, 2009
    Hi, I'm a young software engineer working in a small company that builds embedded computers for automotive applications.

Most of my background is in software, mainly PC application software written in VB/VB.NET, C/C++, etc. However, I've always been interested in electronics:

• I got a amateur radio license in '99 and had to learn a bit of electronics for that (Ohm's Law).
    • I worked on an undergraduate research project with a physics professor that involved writing computer programs to control various lab instruments. I wrote a VB.NET program which controlled some lab multimeters and power supplies over the GPIB / IEEE-488 bus, and to control a bath circulator over RS-232, so I have some interfacing experience.
    • I also helped the professor develop a stepper motor unit for a class, that involved using a PC digital I/O board that drove a motor through a simple ULN2003 transistor driver that I pieced together from a Parallax datasheet. However, after I built the circuit I couldn't explain how/why it worked, and promptly spent the rest of the afternoon trying to determine how the non-PC portion of the circuit worked.
    • I've done a little bit of experimentation of my own. I used to be confused about how ground worked, until I built a small line-level volume control pot-in-a-box for a stereo I had (if you don't reference voltages to ground, the stereo volume won't change). I learned a lot about how impedances worked when I tried to design a small RC low-pass filter to remove some noise that I heard on a channel of a DTV converter box I got for my TV before the digital conversion. I built a one-note MIDI touch keyboard with a capacitance sensor using a BASIC Stamp, and I got that to work just fine following a couple Parallax application notes.