PIC16F877A LED Blinking Program

ActivePower

Joined Mar 15, 2012
I am a complete noob in programming a PIC microcontroller and I have been trying to get the most basic of the tasks (flashing an LED) done.

I am using MPLAB v8.73 with HiTech C Compiler and a PIC16F877A

I found an circuit online (http://justanotherlanguage.org/sites/default/files/blink_a_led_circuit.jpg) and built the circuit with a few modifications in the component values.

The code is as follows:

Rich (BB code):
#include<pic.h>
#define _XTAL_FREQ 20000000

void main()
{
     TRISB=0;
     for (;;)
     {
        RB0=1;
        __delay_ms(250);
        RB0=0;
        __delay_ms(250);
     }
}
The code builds successfully but does not blink the LED :( Maybe there is a problem with the circuit but I wanted to be sure about the code first.

Thanks

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
Good work!

You need to modify the ANSEL register setting for this PIC model, if I guess right. Also configuration needs to be set correctly, including to select HS oscillator.

In the schematic the LED is connected to PORTA.

ActivePower

Joined Mar 15, 2012
Hey, thanks! I had changed the LED to the RB0 position on the PIC. Does that make any difference? And I am using a 20 MHz crystal oscillator, so I included 'XT' in the config bits from the datasheet. And what is the syntax for changing the 'ANSEL', I am afraid I am unaware of that.

Thanks!

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
You have not set the config bits as far as I can see. The config bits are related to section 14.0 SPECIAL FEATURES OF THE CPU in the datasheet.

ActivePower

Joined Mar 15, 2012
I set the config bits from the MPLAB IDE option 'Configuration Bits' and unchecked the 'Use configuration bits set in code' and selected the XT oscillator from the drop-down menu. Does that not count? I am sorry I do not know the details.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009