PIC16F877A based project

harami

Joined Jun 20, 2011
Im new to the PIC world and am having difficulties using it in my project. My project is a simple lighting control system. I already written the program (code). I programmed the PIC and build it on a breadboard. I also build a external RC ocillator. But I still get zero output.

PIN 19,20,21 - output from the pic to the keypad
PIN 27,28,29,30 - input to the pic from the keypad
PIN 23,24,25,26 - output from the pic, connected to the leds

PIN 1 - 5V pow
er supply
PIN 40 - GND

PIN 13, 14 - RC ocillator

Also, on pic16f877a, PIN 11,12 and 31,32 they both are VSS and VDD. So can we use only one of them or do we have to use both of them.

Can you guys help me PLEASE!!!

Last edited:

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
Possible problems (with no diagram, can't say for sure):

Oscillator isn't right/doesn't match config word

You've used low-voltage programming and haven't grounded Portb.3

Reset pin not correctly wired

You didn't use Port B for the inputs from the keypad, and didn't install pullup resistors

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Possible problems (with no diagram, can't say for sure):

Oscillator isn't right/doesn't match config word

You've used low-voltage programming and haven't grounded Portb.3

Reset pin not correctly wired

You didn't use Port B for the inputs from the keypad, and didn't install pullup resistors
QFT.

Also, check the pins used as digital are not being default configured to analog functions. Especially check pins with an "AN#" option.

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
I didn’t gone through your code, but then also as per your schematic their are a lots of problem,
1) First the current limiting resistor for the LEDs are 1K which will limit the current too much you should use 330 ohms instead.