pic16f877a and two interrupts

lokster

Joined Jul 10, 2012
Hey guys, I've been tasked in class to use a pic16f877a and create a circuit where there is a certain pattern of LEDs, basically the LED travels down a row, so its like one on, and one off

And when i press the push button, the pattern changes to something slower, so the LED moves slower.

eg 1st pattern, LED 1 second on, 1 second off
2nd pattern, LED 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off
3rd pattern, LED 8 seconds on, 8 seconds off
and the back to the first pattern with every push of the push button
(attached a picture of the circuit )

I've figure out that i need to use two interrupts, timer0 and External interrupt RB0.Timer0 for the clocking and RB for the button. What i dont understand is when i have two interrupt functions MP Lab gives me an error that i cannot use both, and can only have one. (using C programming)

i get that i should have one ISR, but i dont get how do i keep both functioning in just 1 ISR?? I'm new to this so please bear with me.

Attachments

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
1. You don't have to use interrupt for pushbutton.

2. Have you actually written any interrupt handler? It should be quite obvious that inside such a C code interrupt flag is tested. Or also interrupt flags.

If one flag was not set, the next one is tested! This does not take much MCU time. Do you need a code example, or is it obvious now?

lokster

Joined Jul 10, 2012
yeah, ive written an interrupt handler for timer0. im not sure how to go about the push button not being an interrupt. thanks for the quick reply, could you give me a code sample? here is my program, just in case you want to look, i get an error of the micro controller not being able to have 2 interrupt functions..

Attachments

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
Let's ask this way: why do you want additional interrupt function?

Simply add the code into the existing interrupt handler. That is the way it is done.