PIC16F684 Programming in Assembly

Tomahawk640

Joined Feb 20, 2009
I'm relatively new to PIC programming, but I have some idea of what's going on. I'm working on a senior project that requires bipolar stepper motor control. The problem I'm having is that I need the program to start after a signal has been sent to one of the I/O pins. I went to a tutorial site: http://www.mstracey.btinternet.co.uk/pictutorial/progtut6.htm and tried copying and pasting some code. I keep getting the error "Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct." However, just before the line that's giving the error, I changed the RP0 bit in the STATUS register to the correct setting, but it still gives me the error. I've posted this portion below. Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

movlw 03h
movwf STATUS ;Address of the STATUS register
bsf STATUS, RP0
movlw 85h
movwf TRISA ;Address of the tristate register for port A
movlw 05h
movwf PORTA ;Address of Port A
bsf STATUS,5 ;Switch to Bank 1
movlw 01h ;Set the Port A pins
movwf TRISA ;to input.
bcf STATUS,5 ;Switch back to Bank 0
BTFSS PortA,0

Tomahawk640

Joined Feb 20, 2009
Thank you, that cleared up the errors, but unfortunately, the program didn't work as intended. As soon as I gave it power the program started. I don't want anything to happen until I get a high signal on one of the pins.

Also, I thought I could handle this, but I've been having problems getting some of the conditional code to work. Towards the end of the section below, there's a conditional statement that will jump out of Loop after a variable reaches 0. For whatever reason it doesn't break out of the loop. Thanks again for any help you can provide.

movlw 05h
movwf COUNT1
Loop: ; Return Here for Next Value
addlw -1 ; add -1 to w?
btfsc STATUS,Z ; skip on no carry at digit Z
decfsz Dlay, f
goto $ - 3
movf i, w
call SwitchRead
movwf PORTC
incf i, f ; i=(i+1) % 8;
bcf i, 3

decfsz COUNT1, 1 ;decrease COUNT,skip next if=0
goto Loop