PIC working as a switch of sorts?

Buick455

Joined Nov 30, 2008
Ok, I'm a total beginner here and I have been reading tutorials and PDF's and started learning how to program these addicting little things with GCBasic.. All and all it’s going good. I have blinked leds, turned them on and off with pushbuttons & built a Knight Rider light bar. Now I'm starting my newest project.

What I am trying to do is add a turbo button to the arcade control panel (that connects to my PC) I built a few years back. In the beginning I used a 555 timer and extra buttons for turbo mode (button was duct taped to the panel, lol).

Right now the way the uber trackball (like an upside-down mouse with a 3 inch ball) works is when the push button (normally open) is pressed it just completes a circuit.

I would like to do the following:
Add a mode button & led to another momentary arcade push button (normally open) that will blink 3times and stay on depending on the mode it’s in.

When the turbo button is off I want the stock push button to tell the chip to complete the circuit like it does stock until released.

When the turbo button is on I want the stock push button to tell the chip to repeatedly connect/disconnect the circuit.

On my bread board I have built the circuit and used LEDs to see what’s going on and from what I can tell the program works fine with LEDs and pins going high and low, but for some reason it doesn’t want to work the way I had hoped when connected to my trackball.. any ideas?

ADDED:
ok this makes no sence to me but maybe it will make sence to one of you... i got it to work but not the right way at all... steps that made it work, lol
1. unplug the trackball from the computer
2. disconnect PIN_7 from the trackball
3. plug the trackball back into the PC
4. reconnect PIN_7 to the trackball
BAM, it starts working!! why? I'm very confused

Attachments

Last edited:

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008