PIC pulse problem

SnydeMz

Joined Nov 7, 2010
Im a computer engineer who recently started working with PIC microchip controllers. Im currently working on a project that involves taking signals from the odometer sensor in the instrumentation panel of a car and based on those signals gives high signals on 4 different outputs of the controller. I have a complex problem involving the above. The sensor gives an output in terms of pulses...5 pulses represent a kilometer travelled. I want to measure distance travelled and based on this give output signals representing distance. For 3000km this gives 600 pulses, 5000km gives 1000 pulses, 10000km gives 2000 pulses and 15000km gives 3000 pulses. I have written code for the chip such that an input representing say 3000km(600 pulses) gives an output of a high signal on one of the output pins and so on and so forth for the rest of the distances. Now the challenge is making sure that the chip is able to distinguish between the number of pulses. How can this be achieved electronically...I have heard the term 'digital frequency divider' in some forums but have no idea what that is. please someone shed some light on this issue.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Use one input pin to read the pulses. According to your description, each pulse corresponds to 200m. Thus, each time the PIC receives a pulse increment a variable, which represents distance traveled, by 200.

SnydeMz

Joined Nov 7, 2010
i get that i can use an input pin for the pulses..if i increment a variable.. i will have to write the code such that when the variable is incremented such that it hits a certain value , say if the variable is incremented until it is equal to 15000(for case 1:3000km are repd by 15000 pulses) then output a high signal on one input pin. This would be easy if I was using C or any other language...How do I achieve this in assembly? Specifically im using the PIC16F88/PIC16F84.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009