PIC Programming in Hi-Tech C

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Hello,

Im new to PIc programming and as a part of the interest to flash some projects onto pic's, I bought a PICkit2 programmer. So now Im trying to learn how to write programs on my own in Hi-tech C. Im using MPlab 8.53 and hi-tech PICC 9.7 modules and a PIC16F628A chip and the internal OSC. The problem I am facing is that I can flash my 16F628 well enough and blink my led's but it acts totally wierd.

Rich (BB code):
#include <HTC.H>
#define _XTAL_FREQ 20000000 

__CONFIG(INTIO & WDTDIS & PWRTDIS & BORDIS & LVPDIS );

void main()

{
    TRISA=0;
    TRISB=0;
    unsigned char i=0;

while (1)
{
i=0;
while (i<2){
PORTA = 0xFF;
_delay(100000);
_delay(100000);
PORTA = 0x00;
_delay(100000);
_delay(100000);
i=i+1;
}
i=0;
while (i<2){
PORTB = 0xFF;
_delay(100000);
PORTB = 0x00;
_delay(100000);
i=i+1;
}
PORTB = 0x00;
}
}
The port A led's blink 2 times, then the port B blinks Twice and whole repeats..

However if I change the delay to _delay(1000), it doesnt blink at all.. and _delay_ms(100) gives unidetified errors.. how do I fix the delay problems??

Last edited:

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
Hi,

I'm also using the PIC16F628 MCU for my projects. The following program flashes all the LEDS on PORT A and B.

Rich (BB code):
/*

Program:    Skeleton program        
Description:To get going
PIC:        PIC 16 F 628
IDE:        MPLAB 
Compiler:    High tech C
*/

#include <htc.h>

#define _XTAL_FREQ 4000000

/* Configuration */

__CONFIG    (WDTDIS &
            PWRTEN &
            MCLREN &
            BOREN &
            LVPDIS &
            DATUNPROT &
            UNPROTECT &
            INTIO);

/* Prototyping the functions */
void lightLED();
void turnoffLED();

/* Global variables */

/* Functions */
void lightLED()
{
    PORTA = 0b11111111;
    PORTB = 0b11111111;

__delay_ms(5000);

}

void turnoffLED()
{
    PORTA = 0b00000000;
    PORTB = 0b00000000;

__delay_ms(5000);

}

/* Main program */