PIC programming for computer to PIC

thisdabest

Joined Feb 16, 2014
I am creating a project in which you control your lights via a computer. However I have no experience in getting my PIC(18f2550) to read its USB input. Can anyone help me?

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
Use the USB stack.
Download from the website (Microchip).

you have to copy the project and then modify it.

If the PIC is supported directly, it is easy, if not, you need to use one close to that type, and patch it

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I agree with takao on this. My choice would be a CDC class (communications device class) that makes your device appear as a serial COM port to the PC. There is lots of support for this on a PC, even Hyperterminal can use it, so you don't need any custom drivers.

The Microchip application library have several examples for several PICs on different development platforms. The platform is described in a file called "HardwareProfile.h"

I would suggest for a first time you make as few changes as possible: if you can afford the development platform do so, if not at least choose the same PIC as a supported board.

Once you get used to these USB sample programs they get very useful to reuse in your own projects.

Last edited:

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Alternatively, you can use a USB-serial adapter for your computer. I use the FTDI 4232 mini-module. You can download drivers form FTDI's website. I think Windows 7/8 already have the drivers, so you do nothing more than just plug and play. No RS232 translator is needed, as the output is 3.3V CMOS. Sparkfun has the modules for the FT232 for around 15 bucks.

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
Alternatively, you can use a USB-serial adapter for your computer. I use the FTDI 4232 mini-module. ...

Agreed, a much easier way to do it, and if the USB part blows up from static or any other reason you can just replace that module.

Sparkfun has the modules for the FT232 for around 15 bucks.