PIC Programming Doubts

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by nelsonys, Apr 18, 2011.

1. nelsonys

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 6, 2011
    Hi, I'm a newbie in PIC programming, hopefully I can learn something from all of the masters here...

I'm really confused with different compilers come with different statement for some simple operation like blinking a LED.

I would like to stick to MPLAB C18 compiler as I'm trying my first PIC programming using the PICkit 3 debug express.

There's some statement that I would like to seek for clarification.
    What is the difference between:

1. LATDbits.LATD0 = 0
    2. TRISDbits.TRISD0 = 0
    3. PORTDbits.RD0 = 0

For 2, is it when I declared TRISD = 0, then the statement of 2. become unnecessary?

By the way, is there any documents or guides that I can find these kind of statements?

Thanks!

2. nelsonys

Apr 6, 2011
    and also people do write something like this:
    4. PORTD = 0

Confused -___-

3. AlexR

Jan 16, 2008
    TRISDbits.TRISD0 = 0; sets bit 0 of the register TRISD to 0 and leaves bits 1 to 7 untouched whereas the command TRISD = 0 sets all the bits (0 to 7) of register TRISD to 0.

Same with the PORTDbits.PORTD = 0; command acts on bit 0 and PORTD = 0; act on the whole register.

Any command in the form REGISTERNAMEbits.BITNAME acts on one specific bit of the register whereas a command just stating the REGISTERNAME act on the whole register (all the bits).

Look in the header file for the chip you are using to find the valid names of registers and register bits.
    For example if you were coding for a PIC18F2525 chip the header file C:\MCC18\h\p18f2525.h would contain the definitions of all register and bit names for that chip.

Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  4. nelsonys

Apr 6, 2011
    Thanks Alex...

There's a book written that if u TRIS a port to become input, then it's better to use PORTX = 1 instead of LATXbits.LATX = 1 in order to make the port read in external signal.