Pic Multiple inputs interfacing

saneeshforu

Joined Feb 22, 2014
Haii all i am new in pic programming.i am doing a project on which one push button out put (5V) should connect 4 micro controllers input pin simultaneously.
Can i tie 4 inputs together and connect to push button,? it will affect PIC. or any other ways to connect these things?. Also i have to connect out puts of 4 micro controllers to a single LED. Help me to design this Section of circuitry .

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
Hi.
Make a schematic diagram of what you think will work, and post it here.

It would also benefit your question, if you elaborated what you are building/ doing, or if this is a homework assignment.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Inputs you can connect together. Outputs can be connected together, but all except one must be in a high impedance state.

DNA Robotics

Joined Jun 13, 2014
A 74LS244 buffer will pass 4 outputs with your push button switch on the enable pin.

For 4 outputs to 1 LED I would use opto-isolators to make sure nothing gets shorted.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
If I read your question correctly you have 4 micro controllers, one button, and one LED, correct?

Inputs are fine to tie together to 4 devices.

Outputs are a bit trickier. To get any one or all micros to turn on the LED you can use a series diode on each micros output, then one resistor and one LED. Sketch this out, post it and we will check it.

NorthGuy

Joined Jun 28, 2014
So, you have 4 MCUs, but 1 button and 1 LED.

It is ok to connect inputs of 4 MCUs to the single button. It's not different than connecting one button to one MCU. You only will need a single pull-up for the button, not four, but each MCU will have to do its own debouncing, so the MCUs may not agree on when the button is pressed.