PIC microcontroller and LCD

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Macabra, Sep 9, 2008.

1. Macabra

Thread Starter Active Member

May 31, 2008
    Hi, I've been working on this issue for days now and I'm not a programmer but I've been trying to make my pic (PIC24HJ12GP201) communicate with my LCD (Matrix Orbital LK204-25). When I connect to output on hyperterm the code works great it shows what it is suppose to show, however I cannot seem to make it work on LCD which is using the serial RS-232 interface. Can anyone please give me an idea as to how to make it work?

Here is the code that I have:

#define FCY 25000000
    #define BAUDRATE 19200
    #define BRGVAL ((FCY/BAUDRATE)/16)-1

void initUART(void)
    {
    PORTBbits.RB4 = 1;

///***************************
    // Assign U1Rx To Pin RP0
    //***************************
    RPINR18bits.U1RXR = 0;
    // Assign U1CTS To Pin RP1
    RPINR18bits.U1CTSR = 1;
    // Configure Output Functions
    // (See Table 9-2)
    // Assign U1Tx To Pin 11
    RPOR4bits.RP8R = 3;
    // Assign U1RTS To Pin 12
    RPOR4bits.RP9R = 4;
    //UART Initialization//

PLLFBD=38; // M=40
    CLKDIVbits.PLLPOST=0; // N1=2
    CLKDIVbits.PLLPRE=0; // N2=2
    RCONbits.SWDTEN=0; // Disable Watch Dog Timer
    while(OSCCONbits.LOCK!=1) {}; // Wait for PLL to lock
    U1MODEbits.STSEL = 0; // 1-stop bit
    U1MODEbits.PDSEL = 0; // No Parity, 8-data bits
    U1MODEbits.ABAUD = 0; // Autobaud Disabled
    U1MODEbits.BRGH = 0; // Low Speed mode
    U1BRG = BRGVAL; // BAUD Rate Setting for 19200
    U1STAbits.UTXISEL1 = 0;
    U1MODEbits.UARTEN = 1; // Enable UART
    U1STAbits.UTXEN = 1; // Enable UART Tx

}

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    int main ()
    {

unsigned int place1,place2,place3;
    int STX,ETX,sign,unit_num;
    int temperature;

initADC(); // initialize the ADC
    initUART(); // initalize the UART
    LCDinit();
    OutStr(">");