PIC instead of 74LS138

Tasp

Joined Aug 10, 2008
Hi guys,

I'm very new to electronics especially PIC's. So please excuse any ignorance.

I wanted to use a 74LS138 3 to 8 line decoder, however when the inputs change the outputs turn off (non latching), I need them to latch until the input is removed. I have considered using 74LS74's before finally going into ULN2308A for the final output to LED's, but it seems to get messy with 3 IC's to do a reasonably simple task.

To resolve this I was pointed in the direction of PIC's but with no real understanding I need a few pointers.

Can it be done?

I was looking at the PIC16F887 (40pin) as this gives me 4 banks of 8 Inputs/Outputs?
So using 9 as inputs could have 24 as outputs?
Is this an ok chip or too big/many features for what I want?

Seen as I have no programmer either what do you think about this;
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PIC-Developme...al_Components_Supplies_ET?hash=item414d40e809

I have programmed a lot in BASIC before such as Liberty BASIC so learning 35 commands shouldn't be that hard?!

Thanks for your help.

Dave

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
It's possible but there are a few considerations.
It will be pretty quick but not as quick as the logic ICs
Although the maximum current for a pin is 25mA the total current for the PIC is 90mA so you may still need the ULN2803s.
Have a look at the 35 commands first! You can download Microlab MPlab software for free which has a simulator and debugger so you can try them out.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
I have programmed a lot in BASIC before such as Liberty BASIC so learning 35 commands shouldn't be that hard?!
There are only 26 letters in the English Alphabet, but can you spell all the words and put them in every order? Not to mention the math.

Binary only has 2 ... you can use that..

;)

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Hi guys,

Seen as I have no programmer either what do you think about this;