PIC frequency

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by RG23, Jan 4, 2011.

1. RG23

Thread Starter Active Member

Dec 6, 2010
    How to obtain 1 hz signal from 1Mhz internal clock oscillator in PIC 16f887 without using timer?

if anyone has an idea please let me know

Thank you ​

2. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
  3. RG23

Dec 6, 2010
    I just want to use the internal 1Mhz clock

no timers or time delays

4. ke5nnt

Mar 1, 2009
    A 1Hz signal from the internal osc? Hmmm... might not be possible. You can usually only get the internal oscillator down to 32KHz, but that's still about 31,999Hz too fast for you. Some MCUs let you use a single resistor on the OSC1 pin to create a variable oscillator frequency (variable by the fact that you can change it by changing the value of the resistor) in ER mode. Even still, a MCU with a 4MHz internal clock with a 1MΩ resistor on OSC1, the clock only goes down to 200KHz.

I'm not an expert believe me, I suppose there may be some combination of bit changes and prescaler maybe that could get you close? Or the right combination of resistor and capacitor for an external R/C oscillator, but I would be surprised if you were able to achieve a 1 Hertz clock from the internal OSC.

5. RG23

Dec 6, 2010
    ke5nnt [​IMG]

Thank you for your opinion.

But I think there must be some way out to achieve any frequency from the clock frequency.

6. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Toggle a pin with each loop through a program. Every instruction takes 4 instructions per second, so your output should be around 100kHz. Use a divide by 100k circuit for a 1Hz output.

Internal clock will not be as accurate as a crystal, especially if using the 1Hz for a timebase.

I'd suggest a 32.768kHz crystal and a divide by 32,768 circuit (15 bit counter overflow at 1Hz).