Pic,Avr,or MSP430 for my needs?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by elissaios, Jun 24, 2014.

1. elissaios

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 7, 2012
    Hallo to all,

I am a student in university of greece in electrical engineering department.
    By now i have only use arduino.

I want to move to lower lvl.I wanna start to learn about architecture of a microcontroller,timers to write some assembly or low lvl C to learn about how to connect peripherals,GPIO,SPI,interrupts how to connect uart usart)(or how they works if they are already connected) and many others(i know about them but in general),(things that in arduino dont handle so much or all are libraries and is very easy).
    I wanna write some assembly and C.

Then i would like to move to a MCU with a simple and usefull OS or real time operating system like ZSTACK or Contiki or any other.so to program in higher lvl but to know what happens in lower.

i wanna suggest me a Mcu with:
    1)"Simple" architecure
    2)Not many assembly instructions
    3)Able to take some simple RTOS
    4)Be popular and many proffesionals use it and it has many applications.

or maybe is better to start with a mcu and after learn some thing to find an other more complex with an OS?

Some possible options are MSP430,Cortex avr(i dont know if the are simple for starting out"),or some Pics.

Thanks very much.

Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
  2. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    Without attempting to rekindle the AVR vs. PIC debate, I would go with PIC, simply because among the lower to mid-range PICs, there are both very simple controllers and very complex ones. You can start simple and move to bigger PICs with more features.

Really, there are plenty of learning materials for each, and each are well suited for beginners (the 16-bit architecture of the MSP430 might be a little more daunting, but not impossible to learn). All of these are professional grade and I've seen each in a number of commercial products.