PIC Assembler Beginner's Problem

marktyers

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Hi
I am new to assembler programming and am trying to get a simple program up and running on a PIC12F675 using a PICKIT2

I have wired up the circuit using pins 1-5 on the PICKIT2 programmer according to this diagram:

PIN1 MCLR to PIC PIN4
PIN2 VDD to PIC PIN1
PIN3 VSS to PIC PIN8
PIN4 ICSPDAT to PIC PIN7
PIN5 ICSPCLK to PIC PIN6
PIN6 AUX to PIC PIN5 (not used?)

The problem is in the assembling of the code. My original code is:

Rich (BB code):
        processor     12F675	;set the correct PIC type

GPIO    EQU     05h
TRISO   EQU     85h

ORG	0x000
        GOTO    MAIN

MAIN:   BSF     03h,5    ;Go to Bank 1
        MOVLW   B'000000';Put 111111 into W
        MOVWF   85h      ;Move 111111 onto TRISO (set pins as output)
        BCF     03h,5    ;return to Bank 0

START:  MOVLW   B'111111';put 111111 into W
        MOVWF   GPIO	 ;sets output pins high
        ;MOVLW   b'000000';put 000000 into W
        ;MOVWF   GPIO	 ;sets output pins low
	GOTO    START
END
I use the following commands to assemble to code and upload/run it on the PIC12F675

Rich (BB code):
; gpasm flash.asm                                   --assembles the program
; pk2cmd -P pic12f675 -M -F flash.hex               --burns the program to the MCU
; pk2cmd -P pic12f675 -A5 -T                        --powers the circuit at 5v
; pk2cmd -P pic12f675 -W                            --removes power from the circuit
; pk2cmd -PPIC12F675 -GF my_program.hex             --retrieves program stored on MCU
; gpdasm -p12F675 my_program.hex > my_program.asm   --disassembles program
The problem I have is that an LED attached to pin 2 (GP5) does not light up. I tried downloading the code and disassembling it which returns:

Rich (BB code):
000000:  2801  goto	0x1
000001:  1683  bsf	0x3, 0x5
000002:  3000  movlw	0
000003:  0085  movwf	0x5
000004:  1283  bcf	0x3, 0x5
000005:  303f  movlw	0x3f
000006:  0085  movwf	0x5
000007:  2805  goto	0x5