PIC and LCD display

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by poriet, Mar 5, 2010.

1. poriet

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 26, 2010
    Hello all,
    I'm just starting to learn PIC assembler using the gooligum tutorials ( which, BTW, I find excellent ). I have the PICkit2 with the low-pin count board. The gooligum tutorials settle on the 12F509, and use the LPC demo board. However, I think I want to go straight to making my own breakout board rather than mess with the LPC board. It also gives me the oiption of adding a beefier power supply if I use a load of LEDs. Another reason for ditching the LPC is that it wont do the 16F5X chips. I have these 3 chips ( 'F54, 'F57 and 'F59 ) and I thought I may as well use them.
    Moreover, I also have a few nifty little 8X2 intelligent LCD displays which I fancy using for projects. The F54 is a little short on pins, but the F57 has twenty I/O pins. Can I take it that:
    (a) I can use the F57 to run the LCD
    (b) I can aquire ( better still, steal ) assembler code for operating it from someone who knows what he's doing and link it to my .asm file in MPASM?

Bruce

2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    I don't see any reason why not. You might be able to find some code if you google the part number of your LCD and PIC16F57. Failing that try PIC16F.
    Be careful though because the 16F5x don't have interrupts and only a 2 level stack which is quite limiting.

3. poriet

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 26, 2010
    Hello Mark,
    Thanks for that: I dont know enough about these ucontrollers to know whether the interrupts and stack will impact on making an LCD display actually display anything. It is unlikely to be terribly complicated; say a voltmeter.
    Why would the LCD part # be important? I thought these intelligent displays had a standard format.

Bruce

4. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009