PI temperature controller

wickedgxg

Joined May 11, 2009
Hi
I need to design an electronic circuit for a PI controller for temperature.
I need to control 2 actuators 24Vac with input command 0-10V, one for cooling and the other for heating.
For measuring temperature I have to use 2 temperature sensors, one for measuring room temperature and the other for measuring and limiting the supply air temperature. (Practically I need a loop with two PI controllers - the setpoint for the room should decide the setpoint for the supply temperature which should be controlled by modulating the 2 actuators).
I have to make this only in theory and with analog parts, not by programming.

Do you have a circuit example with something similar?

I am very new to this and unexperienced and any help would be welcomed.

Thank you!
George

wickedgxg

Joined May 11, 2009
A good idea is to use a PLC with a built in PID controller.
Yes it would be a good idea but the problem is that this is a school project and I have to design it using analog parts. The purpose is to design a working electronic schematic (choosing amps, resistors, capacitators, etc.).
And what can I say, I am not so good at it...

DonQ

Joined May 6, 2009
A "PI" controller? Really?

Since your output control will only be controlling the heat supplied, and the heat will be integrated by the heat dissipating radiator to create a temperature which is then read by the temperature sensor... This turns out to be the integral of the integral of the heat (with a time delay thrown in for good measure.)

Integrals tend to make control loops unstable. Integrals of integrals even more so. Control systems with delays also tend to be unstable. Temperature control loops usually have huge delays. Think of the time between when you apply the heat and when you read an increase in room temperature. Double integrating this...