Photomultiplier threshold detector: need advice

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ElectricAye, Apr 6, 2008.

1. ElectricAye

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 5, 2008
    Greetings,

I have a photomultiplier tube (PMT) that I hope will work to output pulses on the order of 10 nanoseconds wide and which will occur approximately every 100 nanoseconds. The PMT will also output some noise, so I would like to build some kind of threshold detector that will give me a countable output pulse only when the output pulse from the PMT exceeds a threshold. I would like the level of the threshold to be adjustable. I'm not very experienced with building electronics but I'm guessing I would need something like a comparator chip. But I'm not sure. I'm also not sure I can solder together a circuit with regular "Radio Shack" tools that can give the kind of frequency response I described above. Can anyone suggest a chip and/or tell me if building a circuit like this by hand is even feasible for an amateur?

many thanks,
    Mark

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Hi Mark,

I haven't experimented with photomultiplier tubes before.
    Wikipedia has some very useful information:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Photomultiplier
    There is a link in the article to a Photomultiplier Handbook, that contains loads of information. I'm still wading through it at the moment.

One of the requirements for a PMT is high voltage, on the order of a couple of KV.

Which PMT do you have? A 931A?

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Take a look at the Linear Technology LT1016 comparator. They may have an application note about it as well as the data sheet. Now I can't recall the company that made the counter equipment for the research reactor, but you may need to get properly designed instruments to work with your PMT.