Photodiode Stimulus Detection to TTL Output

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Gregoun, May 19, 2015.

1. Gregoun

Thread Starter New Member

May 19, 2015
    Hi All,

Literally just stumbled across this forum in a search for answers. I am currently being rushed, with very limited knowledge of analog circuits let alone digital ones, into attempting to build a photo-detection circuit. As a complete novice with a rudimentary understanding of electronics, I am easily out of my depth here. I have been reading through the textbook here but must admit I am struggling. I would greatly appreciate any help!

I have read through the posting FAQ and apologise if I've written this up wrong.

Here is the project that I require some help with, for research.

We are looking to control a TMS (a transcranial magnetic stimulation) machine by the use of one of the two input serial COM ports it has on the back. Many studies reference the following setup but none explain the electronics which is why I'm scouring the internet for help and guidance.

The following is the 'expected' sequence of events: stimulus is presented using MATLAB software on a regular cheap as chips PC monitor with a small, discrete white (or other lightly coloured dot) appearing in a part of the monitor that the participant can't see - possibly by creation of a small hood. A photodiode is used to detect the appearance of this dot and sends a 5 volt TTL 'high' signal - according to the company that made the machine - to the TMS. The TMS has three pins that it works off: Pin 1 is Trigger Input, Pin 2 is Trigger Output and Pin 3 is a Ground/Reference pin. Once it receives the TTL trigger, it sets off the TMS.