Photocell activated LEDs using 120v

rcrowen

Joined Nov 14, 2008
Hello, I'm a graduate student at the Academy of Art. I'm working on a project that would use a photocell to turn on/off a set of three 3.2v LEDs. I'm very green at electronics, and thus any and all help will be useful.

The starting voltage is 120v, but I could possibly use a transformer and drop the voltage to 24 or 12, though I'd prefer to stay with 120v.

Thanks!

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
By not using a transformer, you present lethal voltages to yourself and anyone else poking around the circuit. A wall transformer is so inexpensive and makes the whole project safe to handle.

There are several ways a photocell can be used. Can you fill us in on the way the LED's are supposed to turn on - gradually, abruptly, with decreasing light, with increasing light?

Here is a link into out Ebook that talks about LED's and how to size resistors to limit current through them - http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_3/12.html.

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007
I'm very green at electronics, and thus any and all help will be useful.
Thanks!
Below are a couple links that could direct you in the right direction with respect to a low voltage solution.
As far as the 120V method your quoted experience level prohibits me from sharing a solution at this time, especially considering I haven't a clue on the function of your desired circuit. Does it relate to the art project? When and how do you want the three LED's to turn on? Do you want them on for a specific period of time or controlled by the light intensity? Why do you prefer a 120V solution?

Dark or Light Activated Switch

Dark Activated Switch

NOTE: Both the above circuits include relays, but they may not be necessary for your purposes.

Last edited:

rcrowen

Joined Nov 14, 2008