Phone charger LED feasability

vanquish_uk

Joined Dec 12, 2012
Hi

I am new to the forum so let me start off by saying that I have very little electronics knowledge so apologies if my following question appears to be very basic!

I am wondering if it is possible to use a modern day smartphone charger (Common EPS - 5v, 1amp) charger in a way that could be used to power an LED/array of LED's when required but to also charge the phone when they are not in use? I understand that all chargers under the new EPS standard use a female usb port at which point I would like place an intermediate device that would sit between the charger and the charger cable so the phone is still connected and charging yet is able to power an LED when commanded to do so (see PDF for basic diagram). The switching function needs to come from the smartphone (a custom app) and using the USB cable. The LED brightness does not need to be much more than that of an LED found on a current generation smarthphone and from what I have seen online, many people have used phone chargers to power LED's but I wish to maintain an element of control and phone charging.

I am not asking how this can be done but whether it is possible at all or if there any obvious flaws?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
No problem. Only limit is the power rating of the charger. The LED array should not draw more than, say, 2/3 of the rated power of the charger. You could go higher, but that would put your charger at risk of overheating and premature death.

I think you'll also need to figure out what happens if the LEDs are in place when the phone is plugged in. Do you anticipate this scenario?

bretm

Joined Feb 6, 2012
The switching function needs to come from the smartphone (a custom app) and using the USB cable.