Phase-Locking a Mechanical Foucault Pendulum to External Clock

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Considering a design project here.

As an electrical engineer, I am well versed in the concept of the PLL - Phase Locked Loop.
What i am pondering is the idea of replacing the VCO with a mechanical oscillator that can have it's resonant frequency adjusted by a control signal. If the length of the pendulum could be dynamically adjustable via electro-mechanical means, it seems like it would not be hard to close the loop and achieve phase-lock with an external clock.

My idea is to have a linear array of pendulums that are constrained to a single axis of freedom, and have the ability to phase lock them to an external multi-phase clock.

The effect could be spectacular, as you could make them perform in beautiful patterns that could evolve from one to the next, by re-phasing the clocks and allowing the pendulums to come back into lock.

Any ideas on this one?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The PLL part is well understood except that the corner frequency of the loop filter is several orders of mag. lower than any PLL I have played with.

If I was building it, I would need to obtain the frequency vs control signal function, which means you will have to build the pendulum mechanism first...

I worked on a project like this in an earlier life. Seen the fountains at the Bellagio?

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Some further musings.

What I am imagining is a system that has three distinct elements:

1) Amplitude control system- this part keeps the oscillation at a constant amplitude with closed loop feedback, pumping energy in to replace losses from friction, air resistance, etc.
I imagine using a moving magnet actuator to pump energy back in, and some type of angular displacement sensor to measure the swing amplitude. (and derive a clean phase feedback signal)