Pfet help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by s_mack, Jul 17, 2012.

1. s_mack

Thread Starter Member

Dec 17, 2011
    Sorry for the extremely short and non-descriptive title! I kept getting an error 500 server error and someone suggested I post a shorter title. Weird.

Anyway, I'm kinda new to all this and I'm wondering if someone can look at my simple partial schematic and let me know if I have the right idea?

I have two potential power sources. One is USB, marked Vbb on the schematic, and the other is battery (via a 5v regulator) marked Vaa.

What I want is for both the micro and "other stuff" to be powered if Vaa is present and to have that power NOT go to Vbb. If Vaa is NOT present AND Vbb IS present, then I want only the micro to be powered and not the "other stuff" or Vaa.

I think what I've drawn satisfies this but I also wonder if its the right way to do it. Is there something simpler/cheaper/better/whatever to look at instead?

- Steven

2. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    Show us a "truth table", with Vaa and Vbb as variables, and with "micro" and "other stuff" as the two output functions.

#12 likes this.
  3. s_mack

Thread Starter Member

Dec 17, 2011
    Hmmm... OK, let's see if I can figure that out...

Vaa Vbb Micro Other
    1 X 1 1
    W T F !

Ok, tables in bbcode sucks... I'll figure something out and get back to you ;) Wife's calling me so probably a few hours. Don't wait up!

Thanks.

- Steven

4. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    You've got the right idea (sort of), but are overlooking the fact that there is, in general, a difference between saying Vaa is zero and saying Vaa is not present. If Vaa is zero, (and Vbb is present at some meaningful positive voltage), then Vaa will turn the transistor tied Vbb on. However, if Vaa is simply not present (i.e., floating), then all bets are off because you have a floating gate, which places the transistor in an indeterminant state.