Perfect Power Supply

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by KrakenFan, Dec 1, 2008.

1. KrakenFan

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 1, 2008
    I'm looking for a power supply circuit to build that has a dedicated 3,5,9 & 12 volt power supply each with their own binding posts out front and a 0-24v variable on another set. I would also tap the 12v to add a car lighter socket to the front for working on car powered items. I would like a volt meter (easy enough ) and Amps too. I suppose it could have a variable current limiter as well but I don't exactly get that as yet as I'm new to electronics. Is this too much to ask of a design? Does anyone know of such a beast? Preferably that doesn't include a ton of transistors? I came close here
    http://members.shaw.ca/roma/supply-4.html but I got lost when it gets to the switching to select the voltage. I guess I understand the 5 position switch but worry about finding one around here. Is there somthing eaiser for a first timer?

Thanks for any help herding me in the right direction,

KrakenFan

2. leftyretro

Nov 25, 2008
    Well this is a very good first major project to work on for something starting out in electronics. After of course buying a good digital multimeter (they are cheap these days).

Now on to your project:

It would be better to break down the project into subsystems. For a bench DC power supply you really don't want to have to switch between the different fixed and on variable voltage. What if you required two voltages at the same time say +12 and +5? Just have different power output connectors for each voltage source. So you really only have to construct 4 fixed voltage power supplies and one variable supply. One important specification that you haven't provided is what is the maximum current you want from each fixed and the variable voltages to be able to supply? Current costs money, voltage is cheap, so this is the most important spec you will have to settle on.