Peltier/Thermoelectric Drinks Cooler

Recon

Joined Oct 16, 2009
I am planning to build a drinks cooler with individual tubes for each can (8 in total). This is how I was thinking of doing it:

The aluminium tube is just big enough for the can to slide inside. The copper block at the bottom fits snugly inside the tube.

All the TEC examples I've seen on the internet require some kind of temperature control circuit. Would this be necessary for this project?

I have no real experience with electronics, and was wondering what the best way to power these TECs would be. I was also planning to have each tube individually switched to minimise wasted energy. What would be the best way to construct the circuit?

Any input into the best way to achieve this would be appreciated! How effective do you think this cooler would be?

TEC's are pretty inefficent. You're going to need a few amps of current and some fans on a rather large heatsink to keep 8 of them cool. A simple PTC fuse could probably be used as a crude regulator.

Recon

Joined Oct 16, 2009
Thanks for the reply. I thought that I might need to have a couple of fans blowing over the heatsinks. :)

I was planning to use 12V 45W TECs (360W total). Would I be able to use a standard PC power supply? Or are there cheaper/better solutions?

Sorry for my ignorance (I really don't know much about electronics), but why would I require a PTC fuse? I just found out that they 'trip' to break the circuit if the current drawn is too great, but what would happen if I just connected the TECs to the power supply directly?

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
OK, then you'll need at least 30A.

Converting a couple of ATX supplies will be your least expensive route; so many of them have been made and competition is so fierce that you can get them for much less than a typical switching supply would be.

Recon

Joined Oct 16, 2009