Peltier Project

AaronZ

Joined Sep 23, 2009
Hello everyone, I am relatively new at this so please forgive me, if I do not use the proper terms

The goal of this project is to use a peltier device to cool 14watts of heat from 97F(37C) to 65F(18C), with the ambient temperature no higher than 105F (41C). I wish to use 6 Vdc power 3200mah or 9Vdc 6300mah as a power source. In addition I require this device to last 4-6 hours between charging. Project need to fit inside 2” x 2” x .5” .

I have the following questions about this project.

Are these figures realistic?

What would be the best way to control the cold plate to maintain 65f(18C)? I was considering using a thermo resister to regulate the power to the peltier, or should I use a small onboard thermostat to turn on and off the power?

Is the power on time realistic, if not how long in your opinion will this last?

Any other information that can help me on this project will be appreciated.

Thank you,
AaronZ

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I think you're pushing it on the differential, though two TECs might do it stacked. Generally a TEC is doing good to create 30° differential.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The project board might fit in the 2" x 2" x 1/2" space, but not the battery. You'd need a pretty large one. Peltier devices are power-hungry.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Another thing to consider is that you must get rid of the heat on the hot side of the thermopile fairly quickly or the heat exchange will stall. You will most likely need a pretty good heat sink if you expect to use convection cooling. You can get away with less heat sink surface area if you provide a fan.

hgmjr

zippy

Joined Sep 23, 2009
Hello everyone, I am relatively new at this so please forgive me, if I do not use the proper terms