Peltier control?

sevenayan

Joined Oct 30, 2013
Hi all,

New member here. I just bought a Peltier assembly that I saw a video on, and thought it would be cool to try one out. The assembly already has the module, heat sink, and the fan, all 12V. Peltiers are something completely new to me and I have no knowledge about their specifics. I was wondering, do these things need a control circuit? If so, what kind, and if not, why not? I'm kind of a beginner when it comes to electronics, but I'm willing to learn because these things look pretty cool :)

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
You need to get the specs for your specific peltier. It may well be capable of direct connection to a 12V supply. I have one that is. It has an effective resistance of ~1.2Ω, so it will draw 10A in that case. That's OK because it's rated for that. I run it using a 5V supply, so that it draws only 4A or so. It is under control of a thermostat controlling a MOSFET to switch that 4A current on and off.

The hot side of a TEC will get REALLY hot at the max rated current. It may draw 100W to move 10W from the cold side to the hot, and all 110W show up on the hot side. If your sink and fan can handle that, it will operate. But you can overheat a TEC very easily if you don't move the heat away.

Any TEC is far more efficient when run at well less than rated current. I think you can approach 2 watts consumed for each one moved, at low current.

David Pate

Joined Oct 29, 2013