PCB Track Width and pad size

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bumclouds, May 20, 2009.

1. bumclouds

Thread Starter Active Member

May 18, 2008
    Hey guys,

I'm very new to making PCB's. I have to make one for one of my uni projects, and I have NO idea what size to make the pads, and what thickness the tracks should be.

I also don't know how to make those "feet" that I've seen people put in the corner of PCB's, and I dont know what size you should make the holes for those..

I'll give you a schematic of mine, to show you the currents and voltages..

[​IMG]

So far I've done a track width of 3mm for everything. How is that?

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Low currents don't need a lot of track width. 3mm is probably 3 or 4 times what you actually need. I would be comfortable with .024" leads, which are about .61mm. Make the pads a comfortable size - that is something you determine by experience and how good you are drilling the holes.

The largest concern you have is in keeping tracks spaced apart so the B+ doesn't go places it shouldn't.

You know this project should be done on a chassis with the components underneath run point-to-point on terminal strips.

3. bumclouds

May 18, 2008

What does that mean? :confused:

4. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Last edited: May 20, 2009
  5. bumclouds

May 18, 2008
    So what's the advantage of doing the old fashioned way as opposed to PCB?

6. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    That was not serious advice - the tubes are old-fashioned, so I was suggesting the project be done using an old-fashioned method.

7. Darren Holdstock

Feb 10, 2009