PCB prototype

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Rylan, Dec 10, 2012.

1. Rylan

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 10, 2012
    I am an electrician looking to build a prototype PCB for a small machine. I dont have a great deal of experience in electronics. It has about 10 inputs which are switches and buttons. It will need to control 5 motors which only draw a couple of amps at 12v. Three of which will need to operate in forward and reverse. I am looking to run off a 12 volt battery and use a microcontroller to operate it. My questions are what microcontroller would be best to use, what transistors should I use for control of the motors and whats the easiest way to build a pcb?

If anyone can give me some advise or point me in the right direction your help would be greatly appreciated.

2. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    Any microcontroller can be used assuming there are sufficient I/O pins. Most people choose a μC in a family that they are familiar with, and can program. Generally MOSFETs are used to control DC motors; the MOSFETs are chosen based on the μC voltage and the load requirements.

There is no easy way to build a PCB. The easy way is to buy a PCB, (which still has to be designed.) But PCB's can be "home made;" look in the completed projects section of this forum for a post by Bill Marsden that describes in detail how he makes PCBs.

I know that this doesn't provide the level of detail you would like, but your project sounds like a somewhat complicated project. There are people here who can and will help, but they will ask for complete details about the switches, the motors, and the environment.

3. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    I do a lot of PIC based microcontroller projects. I've posted some thoughts about how to get started here. I would strongly suggest you start with a development board for reasons I give in that post (short version: it will protect your sanity while making you more productive).