PCB Designing,Auto Place & Auto Route

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by rahdirs, Jun 28, 2013.

1. rahdirs

Thread Starter New Member

May 22, 2013
    I have designed a circuit during my internship.I'm new to PCB designing as they don't even teach it in university.

I've gone around some Cadsoft Eagle Tutorials,but i still feel it uncomfortable,so i thought of trying to design some PCBs,no matter how bad they are.

The software that i use UltiBoard,gives an option for Autoplacing & Autorouting.
    Then why do i need to custom design them ????

I also saw in Ultiboard's manual which describes the way it does Autoplace & Autoroute which looks good(Maybe it appears good to me).

Why don't ppl use Autoplace & Autoroute then??
    This is one PCB board i generated that way
  2. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    In general, autorouters do not give results that are as good as layouts done manually by skilled designers. The technology is improving, and will continue to improve.

In the example you posted, there are numerous places for changes that would improve the layout. For example, the traces seem very small, especially those going to the power transistors.
  3. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    Autoplace, I would NOT use it. A human can do the placement much much better. Autorouter nah...for such a small project the human brain is again much better.
    From your draft I can see you have much to learn(indeed). I would not show this to your supervisor at all. As a start maybe this document may help you out some http://alternatezone.com/electronics/files/PCBDesignTutorialRevA.pdf