PCB Design - Is it OK to use "jumpers" for single sided design

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by spinnaker, Feb 14, 2010.

1. spinnaker

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    I am a newbie to PCB design. Since I am a newbie, I went with single sided to make things easier.

I was able to design the PCB for my power supply fairly easily. I am guessing because I had components with a low pin count.

Now I am designing the DMM portion. I am a number of components with a higher pin count.

I am struggling to route everything without traces crossing one another. In some instances I have been able to pass a trace under a component.

I was wondering if it was permissible to use "jumpers" (or what ever they are called) to bridge traces, using the top side of the board.

I am guessing if they are used, they should be used sparingly?

2. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    You can use jumpers if you want, I do all the time when making double sided PCB's at home.... here is a PCB I recently just made with some jumpers on top, I used the leads that are cut off of resistors and the diodes that I used in the circuit for the jumpers...

[​IMG]

3. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    Of course you can use jumpers. I often use jumpers to get rid of a routing problem in my hobby projects. And components like resistors make excellent jumpers.

4. Duane P Wetick

Apr 23, 2009
    I've used insulated or un-insulated jumpers on single sided pcb's to economize costs. You can even buy 0 ohm resistors if you don't want to use wire. For feed-thru terminal blocks, its best to use plated-thru holes and double side pads because screw torques sometimes want to lift solder pads.

Cheers, DPW [ Everything has limitations...and I hate limitations.]

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Sure, you can use jumpers.

It's best if you can minimize their use, because otherwise you will have more holes to drill, more wires to solder/trim, and more points that could cause you problems.