PCB components and corresponding pads

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bjsterilite, Jun 13, 2011.

1. bjsterilite

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 13, 2011
    Hey guys,

I was looking for some help on choosing the what kind of pads i should use with components on a PCB. This is my first time designing a PCB of any sort. This project comes from a tutorial on a website for mods and its basically a circuit to control a set of LEDs that will be animating 3 sheets of plexiglass.

The problem I'm having is that because I'm not too familiar with components I didn't know what size pads to place on my pcb.

EDIT: I forgot to add a part
    My bill of materials is:
    1 x 4017 Decade/Counter
    1 x 555 Timer
    3 x 3mm White LEDs
    3 x 10k Ohm Resistors
    3 x NPN Transistors
    1 x Electrolytic(+) Capacitor 1uf
    1 x 120 Ohm resistors
    1 x ~47k Potentiometer
    1 x SPST Switch
    1 x USB Connector Cable(B1)

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    You don't say what software you are using to generate the schematic, and then the PCB design.

I've been using Cadsoft Eagle for a few years. It's complex, but has a pretty rich set of features. The freeware version is limited to 2 layers, and a board of ~3" x ~4". It comes with quite a few libraries for parts. A 2-layer PCB and a 3" x 4" board is enough for LOTS of hobbyist projects.

The first place to look for pads is the manufacturers' datasheets for the components themselves. Standard parts like DIP IC's are usually contained in a library for your chosen layout softwere.

You won't find pad layouts for devices like switches that are designed for mounting on a panel; you will either need to use a connector of some sort, or simply use wire pads so that you have something to solder to.

If you decide to try Cadsofts' Eagle, then I highly suggest that you go through Sparkfun's tutorial, here:
    http://www.sparkfun.com/tutorials/108
    It will save you a lot of time.