pc fan wind generator?

ianpagulayan15

Joined Feb 23, 2013
sorry everyone, but please understand me. I'm an electrical engineering student and we were ask to do a project proposal. and the project that came into my mind is that what if I use a pc fan as a generator to charge the battery of any kind of mobile phones. Is it possible to charge a mobile phone battery using a pc fan? If so, can everyone teach me how to do it. What are the things (components and material) that i need to use, and the circuit for it.,
I HOPE everyone understand me.,THANK YOU for helping!:)

SPQR

Joined Nov 4, 2011
Well, you could start by grabbing a PC fan, hooking up a voltmeter to the leads, spinning it with wind, your fingers, or and attached motor.

If you see 0V when it's not moving and >0V when it is, then you have the start of your generator.

You'll have to see the kind of voltage you get out of it (AC/DC), then determine if you need to "boost" the voltage or "buck" the voltage.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
I am not sure a PC fan motor can be used as a generator. It has something to do with the construction of the motor. But the test in post #2 will give you the answer

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
I am not sure a PC fan motor can be used as a generator. It has something to do with the construction of the motor. But the test in post #2 will give you the answer
I was thinking the same thing. PC fans are usually brushless and relatively low current, with a controller circuit.
You might have some luck with a standard DC motor.

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
It can be used, but the current is depends on the type of fan, if the current is too less, then the charging time will be a long Journey.

The problem is that if the blade of fan is too small then it will not easy to active the fan, and the power will too low.

Last edited:

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009