PC boards ?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mathematics!, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Mathematics!

Thread Starter Senior Member

Jul 21, 2008
    Ok I am new to electronics and I have been using a solderless breadboard's to experiement with. Now I want to make some of my circuit's perminent. So I have a soldering iron , some rosin , a sponge, and some perfboards.

However I am new to soldering and I am unsure of the best way to solder. I have heard about cold joint's and other things.
    What is so important about tinning the tip?
    Is the steps like
    1) tin the tip
    2) press tip on circuit wire to heat up
    3) press rosin on other side of wire not touching solder iron
    4) remove rosin after like 2 seconds
    5) remove solder iron after a few seconds after rosin.

Because I am still having a little trouble I get these little tin balls. So I am probably doing this wrong.

I have a 30 watt general purpose soldering iron.

Also with the perfboards how do you connect the component's.
    On my solderless board I just plugged in the components and their was a row for power and one for ground but on perfboard's how do you get power to the correct components and where is ground???

Basically do you twist the ends of components together before soldering to make components in series?

Thanks for any help.
    Sorry if my questions are really basic.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 21, 2008
  2. SgtWookie

Jul 17, 2007
    This guide isn't too bad:
    But don't use steel wool. Use 3M Scotchbrite pads instead, available in your grocer's cleaning supplies section. Steel wool can imbed in the soft metals you're cleaning and cause rusting later. Scotchbrite pads won't do that. Steel wool is also highly flammable.