Parallel circuits

lost2008

Joined Feb 5, 2008
Hi everyone i'm new to the forms.
I'm taking a fundamentals of electricity class (not by choice )and I’m completely lost. Right now we are doing parallel circuits and I’m stuck on how to figure out the voltage drop across each resistor, the power dissipated by each resistor and the power supplied by the battery. I would like to say that I’m complete dumba** when comes to this stuff. Any help would be great, thanks in advance. :confused::confused::confused:

braeden

Joined Feb 6, 2008
1. go to somewhere like imagshack.us or xthost.info
2. create an account
3. upload the photo
4. put the url of the image in between img tags.
5. finished

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
We do support uploading of attachments.

I tried adding an attachment last night after i posted this, but i didn't see where to add an attachment.
To add an attachment, on the Post Reply page:

- Scroll down to the Additional Options section
- Select Manage Attachments
- Select an attachment to upload, either from your PC or from a website
- Upload the attachment and when you post your reply it will be appended to the bottom of your post.

Please note from the Manage Attachment window the file types supported and maximum sizes for those file types.

For further information see the FAQ.

Dave

luck

Joined Jan 25, 2008
To start lets think about the conceptual first. Take for example Christmas lights. What happens when one bulb burns out/ is taken out? A part of the string turns off while the rest of the string works. This is because the Christmas lights are wired both in parallel and in series. the bulbs that go out are in series with each other and as such once you remove a bulb you have an open circuit in that part. Basics of electricity are that an open circuit has about an inf resistance and thus a zero current (no electricity flows through it).