output resistors on digital I/O

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by derikd, Jun 17, 2008.

1. derikd

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 17, 2008
    I am examining / replacing a pre-existing microcontroller circuit. My background is from Physics not EE, so I can tell you how a doped semiconductor works, but don't know much about practical electronic circuits.

The previous electrical engineer placed 5.1k resistors on each of the digital I/O pins of the microcontroller. Most notably on the pins connecting to the serial bus.

I have seen this sort of output resistor elsewhere.

What are these "input/output resistors for? what value is appropriate and how do I calculate that?

The current values of 5k are inconvenient, but since I don't know why they are there, I don't know if it would be good electronics practice to remove/change them.

EDIT: I should say that the serial bus runs less than 20k Baud, but the 5k reisistors are on ALL the digital IO pins. They must be there for something, but I don't know it was.

Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  2. kppp

Apr 23, 2008
    hi,
    microcontroller port (i/o) pins are opendrain i.e there is no resistor between collector of transistor and VCC (pls, study opendrain and pushpull concept of microcontroller pins) thus to get output we conect resistors between these points and we get optput across this wrt ground
    standard value used is 10KOHM, in case of SMD microcontroller we connect resistor array to these pins
    in short, to drive the io pins we use resistors
    if any query, pls post
    bye
    take care

3. roddefig

Apr 29, 2008