Output of USB from Computer?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by raziiq, Nov 12, 2009.

1. raziiq

Thread Starter Active Member

Dec 15, 2008
    Hey There.

I am very new to electronics. I wanna know a few things

1) What is the total voltage we can take from a Computer USB (For example if i have to power up some circuit from USB cable that is attached to PC)?

2) Amount of Current we can take from a Computer USB?

3) Is it safe to use USB as a power supply to circuits?

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    The USB ports on desktop/tower computers are rated for 5v, not to exceed 500mA (0.5A) current draw. Laptop computers usually have less current capability; it varies between manufacturers / models.

500mA/0.5A maximum. Laptops, generally less.

I've had a Microchip PICkit 1 pugged into a USB port with a PIC12F675 uC flashing a dozen LEDs for the past year - no problems yet.

The connectors weren't designed to pass high current. If you happened to short out a USB port, you may burn it up. If you want to be sure you won't burn yours up, use a 1/2A fuse between the USB port and your project.

3. raziiq

Dec 15, 2008
    thanks for the reply, that was helpful.

BTW if i need something to power up that needs more than 5V, then i should use external power supply instead of USB, right?

Also the Parallel Printer ports have the same amount of voltage n Current? Ya??

4. bill l

Oct 11, 2009
    I would not experiment especially if it's your primary desktop/laptop as you risk damaging the usb controller and I'd bet that would not be covered as a warranty repair.

For 5 vdc, from 300ma up to 1 amp, phone chargers can be had for dirt cheap from thrift stores.

5. raziiq

Dec 15, 2008
    Ya thats why i am not planning to hook it up with my Computer first up. Wanna make sure i am not doing anything foolish before trying to connect circuits to my PC USB.

6. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Yes.